• Add to Favorite    Set As Homepage
  • WAP cell phone RSS suscribe

The Zhou Period

时间:2013/2/28 16:30:19 作者:learnmorechina 来源: 查看:73 评论:0

According to Chinese reported, the last Shang ruler, a despot was overthrown by a chieftain of a frontier tribe called Zhou, which had settled in the Wei Valley in modern Shanxi Province. The Zhou dynasty had its capital at Hao, near the city of Xi'an, also called as Chang'an, as it was known in its heyday in the imperial period.

In 771 B.C, the capital was moved eastward to Luoyang in present-day Henan Province. Because of this shift, historians divide the Zhou era into Western Zhou (1027-771 B.C.) and Eastern Zhou (770-221 B.C.) And Eastern Zhou divides into two sub-periods. The first, from 770 to 476 B.C., is called the Spring and Autumn Period; the second is known as the Warring States Period (475-221 B.C.)

Sharing the language and culture of the Shang, the early Zhou rulers, through conquest and colonization, gradually sinicized, that is, extended Shang culture through much of China Proper north of the Chang Jiang (or Yangtze River) The Zhou dynasty lasted longer than any other, from 1027 to 221 B.C. Initially from Shang, there was the notion that the ruler (the "son of heaven") governed by divine right but that his dethronement would prove that he had lost the mandate.


Copyright © Learn More China. All rights reserved

Some of the information on our site is from internet, if it infringes your right, please contact us so we can correct it.

The advertisements on our site just to let our visitors more convenient and make our site keep runs, Learn More China do not have the duty to check the service or products the advertisers offer.

Bookmark and Share